Musing Mondays (January 06)

My Musing:

After a long time, I began reading a series, The Clifton Chronicles, written by Jeffery Archer. I happily embarked on the journey, completely convinced that it was a trilogy. Woe of woes, I’m midway through the third book and was told by a friend that it is actually a five part series, and the last two books have not been written yet. Now I’m annoyed with myself because that means that when part 4 is released, I’ll have forgotten a great deal of the story line; after all, it is a year from now.

I try and let the author finish writing all parts before I start reading a series. Else, either I end up not finishing the series at all or I have to re-read the earlier parts. This one’s a good series though 😛

Musing Mondays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Musing Mondays asks you to muse about one of the following each week…

Describe one of your reading habits.
Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it!
Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!

12 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (January 06)

  1. I had the same issue with the Left Behind series. I was so involved in it, I wanted to keep going as soon as I finished the latest book, but I had to wait for the next book to be released. One time, I got really into what was supposed to be a trilogy, but the author never completed the last book, so I was left hanging without knowing the characters’ fates. That was aggravating.

    Hope you’ll stop by my MM today at http://thebookconnectionccm.blogspot.com/2014/01/musing-mondays-january-6th.html

  2. I gave up reading series unless they are also stand alone books. In some series it seems like a lot of the later books repeat some of the earlier books so ones who have not read them can still somewhat follow the story. I have to many stand alone books I want to read, therefore I try not to get caught up in series.

  3. When you think about it, though–what a good problem to have! It’s always so much fun for me when I discover a new author or series–I’d much rather be waiting anxiously for a new book to be available, rather than not looking forward to anything to read.

  4. I tend to be just like that actually. I only like reading a series after all or most of it is released so that if I like it I do not have to worry about waiting. That said there have been a few series I end up waiting on the last book to come out, like the house of night series right now.

    Thanks for coming by Fire & Ice

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.