Long term Goal

I do not make new year resolutions; I do not believe in them. when I want to get something done, I get it done! So, since my blog has recently turned three, this is as good a time as any to make a resolution.

I read a lot of Classics as a child, I read the abridged versions initially; and later on in life I read the unabridged versions in full. Somewhere along my reading journey, other genres of books took over. There was fantasy, crime, magic realism, historical, philosophical and all sorts of other ‘phases’ of my reading life.

Last year, when V gifted me a Kindle, and I found scores and scores of Classics for free, two of the biggest problems were instantly solved. Those of weight and price! I re-read a few books and it reminded me of how much I loved reading Classics. So this is a list of 36, picked from The Big Book List, that I hope to read in the next three (hopefully) or four (realistically) years. I have been meaning to read some of these books for the longest time, and until I put this down and make it real, I’m not going to end up reading them. So here goes…

  1. Achebe, Chinua: Things Fall Apart
  2. Allende, Isabel: The House of the Spirits
  3. Angelou, Maya: I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings
  4. Aristophanes: Lysistrata
  5. Arnow, Harriette: The Dollmaker
  6. Borges, Jorge Luis: Ficciones
  7. Bradbury, Ray: Fahrenheit 451
  8. Bronte, Emily: Wuthering Heights
  9. Camus, Albert: Stranger
  10. Chekov, Anton: Cherry Orchard
  11. Dickens, Charles: The Old Curiousity Shop
  12. Dostoevsky, Fyodor: Crime and Punishment
  13. Dumas, Alexandre: The Three Musketeers
  14. Eco, Umberto: The Name of the Rose
  15. Eliot, T.S.: The Waste Land
  16. Joyce, James: Finnegans Wake
  17. Kesey, Ken: One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest
  18. Marlowe, Christopher: Doctor Faustus
  19. Mishima, Yukio: The Sailor Who Fell from Grace with the Sea
  20. Morrison, Toni: Jazz
  21. Nabokov, Vladimir: Ada or Ardor: A Family Chronicle
  22. Nietzsche, Friedrich: Thus Spoke Zarathustra
  23. Scott, Sir Walter: Lady of the Lake
  24. Scott, Sir Walter: Waverly
  25. Shikibu, Murasaki: The Tale of Genji
  26. Spark, Muriel: Prime of Miss Jean Brodie
  27. Steinbeck, John: The Grapes of Wrath
  28. Stevenson, Robert Louis: The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde
  29. Tolstoy, Leo: Anna Karenina
  30. Tolstoy, Leo: War and Peace
  31. Trollope, Anthony: The Warden
  32. Twain, Mark: A Tramp Abroad
  33. Whitman, Walt: Leaves of Grass
  34. Williams, Tennessee: A Streetcar Named Desire
  35. Woolf, Virginia: To the Lighthouse
  36. Yeats, William Butler: Irish Faerie Tales
2 thoughts on “Long term Goal

  1. I had to read C & P in high school (years and years ago) and while it took a little time to get into, I remember it was a great read. Great list, enjoy your classics 🙂

Leave a Reply

