Top 15

For unnamed reasons, I tried to come up with my list of top fifteen books, ever. Understandably, it is not a fair list, it is just a list of names that popped into my head when someone said the word ‘Books!’ Probably, these are books that wouldn’t leave me long after I finished reading them…

My top fifteen, in no particular order
1.Β Moby Dick
2. The Fountainhead
3. Lord of the Rings
4. 1984
5. To Kill a Mockingbird
6. Lolita
7. All Quiet on the Western Front
8. Sophie’s World
9. One Hundred Years of Solitude
10. Mister God, This is Anna
11. Sputnik Sweetheart
12. Orkney
13. Of Love and Other Demons
14. Illusions
15. The Hungry Tide

Do you have a favourite book/movie? Which one? Which would make it to your top 10?

15 thoughts on “Top 15

      • Darker as in reads that are at times disturbing, some of them challenging, and at times just plain tragic.

        1984 begins with a description of how they killed a good part of the vocabulary and the dictionary. Chilling effect, it had, on me. For the first 2 times I read it, I couldn’t go beyond the first 20 or so odd pages 😐
        Lolita is such a sad tale 😐
        All Quiet on the Western Front has some gory descriptions of war’s impact on humanity.

        I don’t know about half of these books. You can tell that I am not a well-read man πŸ˜‰

  1. Yes, humor seems like a passe now. May be I’ve read my share, may be it is for the kids, or may be I am just turning mellow with age πŸ˜‰

    I prefer to laze around with the kiddo. I know I should be more diligent about reading 😐 Keeping pushing πŸ™‚

    • I have been told that my indifference t humour is because I haven’t read any of the really good stuff. Well, when I was your kiddo’s age, my Mum and I used to sit side by side and she’d read her books and I’d read mine, half hour on weekdays and an hour on weekends. I lived feeling ‘so growed up’ then πŸ™‚

      • Oh and now I and my kiddo, sit side-by-side and watch Superhero movies and TV series πŸ˜‰

        PS: “I shall read more fiction in 2014!”

  2. Pingback: Monsieur … a review | BookMark

Leave a Reply

