Through the Looking-Glass … a review

Psychedelic Book Cover

Hmmm… so Alice, as we know, is a girl of about seven, who goes about having all sorts of weird adventures.  In this very famous Lewis Carroll book, she ends up in a parallel world trough a looking glass. In this world, she meets Queens and Kings, Humpty-Dumpty, sheep, frogs and whatnots! She must play a game of chess to find her way out and that too, backwards. Things are not what they seem and topsy-turvy is the rule of the game. There’s some brilliantly creative nonsensical poetry too.

Two things struck me about this book. First, although it was a little difficult to understand when I began reading it; I told myself to be a child in the head. Things seemed simple enough the. The trick is to not over analyse the book. The happenings are strange enough, our thoughts only blur logic further.

Second, I did feel that somewhere towards about 75% of the story, if Alice had figured out the fact that everything in the world was happening backwards, I should have liked it much better. Although, it is so not my place to comment upon one of the greatest writers to have lived; I do do think it would’ve been more fun. Sigh, strange how difficult it is to write and how easy to criticize another.

Also, as I promised here, Jefferson Airplane!

When the men on the chessboard get up and tell you where to go
And you’ve just had some kind of mushroom, and your mind is moving low

Go ask Alice, I think she’ll know

When logic and proportion have fallen sloppy dead
And the white knight is talking backwards
And the red queen’s off with her head
Remember what the dormouse said
Feed your head, feed your head

(No, the dormouse does not say it. If anyone tells you otherwise, don’t believe then!)

PS: An old friend (who wasn’t a friend then, we had ‘history’) from school said she liked this space. Another relatively newer friend linked it. I’m feeling a wee bit happy 🙂

2 thoughts on “Through the Looking-Glass … a review

  1. I never read these when I was a child and then around last year I got “Alice in Wonderland” and loved it. I so want to read this one now.

Leave a Reply

