My Sister’s Keeper … a review

This novel is written by American author Jodi Picoult. The genre, for me, is the regular Stephen King, Danielle Steel, Sidney Sheldon kind. However, this is the only book by the author that I have read and I admit, it did make my train journey very interesting. The book tells the story of 13 year old Anna, who sues her parents for medical emancipation. This is because Anna was conceived as a match for her sister Kate, who has some form of leukemia. When Anna’s umbilical cord cells are used, Kate heals.

A few years later, when Kate relapses, Anna is used for organ and stem cell donation whenever Kate needs it, as she is the only match. There are twists and turns in the novel; why Anna sues her parents, what is the real deal between her lawyer Campbell and court-appointed Julia etc. The girls have a brother too, Jesse, but his character is present in more of a supporting role.

My feelings after having read the book was mostly shock (I have watched the movie too and the endings differ completely). I thought that the base of the plot was marvelous, how does one come up with stuff like this! I loved Sara, the mother and the torture her character endures. She herself is a lawyer; imagine being sued by your teenage daughter! That too when you other daughter is battling for her life and needs a kidney… it is a good light read. And in the process, one can reflect on relationships, what is abuse, where are lines drawn, and what is right?

Quote: “Let me tell you this: if you meet a loner, no matter what they tell you, it’s not because they enjoy solitude. It’s because they have tried to blend into the world before, and people continue to disappoint them.”

4 thoughts on “My Sister’s Keeper … a review

  1. I read the movie review and decided it was too heavy for me. I did not know it is based on this novel. Border-line scary stuff, I assumed from the reviews 😐

Leave a Reply

