A New Life …a review

I do not understand why anyone would want to read this Amit Chaudhury book. I picked it up as part of my let’s-see-what-Indian-authors-are-like phase and I wish I hadn’t wasted my time. The reason I read the entire book was because I was waiting for something to happen, nothing ever did. A Bengali divorcee in his thirties (with a little boy of 7-8) at his parents’ place inCalcuttain the monsoons. That’s it. The regular having breakfast, lunch, going out, doing bank work yada-yada. Random events forced into a story. If there was any hidden meaning, I did not see it.

The book is also very Bong oriented. And I do not mean that in a good Amitav Ghosh kind of way. Sometimes, the dialogues in Bong aren’t even translated in parentheses, as they usually are. Tell me, how else can you alienate non-Bong readers?

Just sad, don’t read it. I am going to steer clear of the author, even. A New Life, it seems!

Leave a Reply

